Recipes: Preparing for Thanksgiving

So, my son-in-law’s football team made it to the Missouri State Finals, which will be played in St. Louis the day after Thanksgiving.  His parents had originally planned to make a trip to Texas to see their extended family, but with the win – they are staying home.  And, I’ve invited them to join us for Thanksgiving.  My guest list now totals 15 people. That’s okay!  I’ll just grab a couple of extra turkey legs to roast and we’ll be fine. 

So, what are you planning on making for Thanksgiving? How many people are you expecting at the gathering you are hosting or attending? (my kids are already drooling and anticipating the dressing and gravy). Here’s what I’m planning on making:

Traditional Roasted Turkey – but I’m going to try this first– via Pioneer Woman’s Recipe.
Apple Salad
Deviled Eggs
Easy Cornbread Dressing
Mimi’s Easy Giblet Gravy
Corn Pudding
Classic Green Bean Casserole
Sweet Potato Casserole
Pecan Pie
Fresh Apple Cake
Dinner Rolls – I’m cheating and using some frozen rolls that are pretty good. I just don’t have time to make them from scratch – this time.

And, to add to the holiday cheer factor. I just have to share this photo of my friend’s baby.  Thank goodness for leaves! 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. That baby is adorable! And your menu looks fantastic! I made PW’s no-knead rolls last Thanksgiving, and they were easy and scrumptious;) But frozen is definitely easier (and just as good!)

  2. Deb says:

    OMG! Look at that baby! He or she is adorable!!! I make bread in my bread maker…I’ll make 3 loaves tomorrow and 2 on Wednesday

  3. Kath says:

    Adorable pic!!!

    I am hosting. Just the “Original 8” of us and four others to make a grand total of twelve!! The birds are a chillin’!

  4. Donna in VA says:

    Gosh, your menu sounds very similar to mine. There’s only going to be five of us, but I’ll be having some people stopping by for dessert. Should be a blast! And I’ll sleep all day Friday.

    Traditional roasted turkey
    Honey Glazed ham
    Cornbread dressing
    Giblet gravy
    Mashed potatoes
    Corn pudding
    Green beans and tomatoes
    Fruit salad
    Pecan pie
    Chocolate pecan pie
    Peanut Butter Cornflake Bars
    Oh yeah, and I’m doing the frozen rolls too. I need a shortcut anywhere I can get it.

    I hope you have a fabulous holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

