Recipe: Classic Green Bean Casserole

I’m sure I’ll have to make this for Thanksgiving Day dinner. The kids would think I had blown a gasket or something if this wasn’t on the table. It is a delicious traditional Green Bean Casserole and sure to please your guest. However, if you want a new twist on the Green Bean thing this year, go back to my post from April for the Green Bean Bundles. I usually make those when I’m serving ham for Christmas dinner. Well – I’m off to Wal-Mart to shop for this week’s groceries and all the things I need for Thanksgiving Dinner. I wonder if I’ll need an extra person to push the extra cart? ๐Ÿ™‚

Classic Green Bean Casserole

1 can cream of mushroom soup
1/2 soup can of milk
2 (1 lb.) cans green beans
2 Tablespoons chopped pimento
dash pepper
1 can French fried onions
1 can slice mushrooms
1 can sliced water chestnuts

Combine soup and milk in a large saucepan and heat until bubbly. Remove from heat and stir in green beans, pimento, water chestnuts and 1/2 of the onions. Butter a 1 1/2 quart casserole dish and place bean mixture in it. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Top with remaining 1/2 can of onions and mushrooms and bake for 5 minutes longer.

Y’all Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 Comments Add yours

  1. dcamurray says:

    Such a classic!! And neither of my boys will eat it. It makes me so sad because I love it SO.

  2. judy grimes says:

    Enjoy your web site and especially the recipes. Would like to subscribe to your site. Thanks, Judy

  3. judy grimes says:

    How do I get your updates and new recipes that you post? Judy

  4. judy grimes says:

    I would like to subscribe toyour website.

Leave a Reply

