Recipe: Orange Date-Nut Cake

I’m still feeling stuffy headed and will probably spend most of the day in a fog on the sofa. But, I wanted to post this recipe for Orange Date-Nut Cake. I was walking through Wal-Mart Thursday night (purchased the Turkey and sweet potatoes) and I noticed they had a bunch of dates and a bunch of oranges in the fresh produce section. Since those items are available this time of year, why not whip up a delicious dessert made with both.

Orange Date-Nut Cake

1 cup butter
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
Grated rind of 2 oranges
1 1/3 cups buttermilk mix + 1 tsp baking soda
3 1/2 cups flour
2 cups cut-up dates
1 cup chopped pecans

Dredge 2 cups cut-up dates and 1 cup chopped pecans in flour. Cream butter, sugar and eggs. Add orange rind and buttermilk. Mix in flour, nuts and dates. Bake in greased and floured tube pan at 325 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. Remove from oven and cool until slightly warm. Poke small holes in the top with a toothpick and pour icing over cake until absorbed.

Icing:
1 cup orange juiced
2 cups sugar
3 Tablespoons orange rind

Mix until sugar dissolves.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

(I’m heading for the couch.)

One Comment Add yours

  1. Donna in VA says:

    I LOVE dates! And this sounds fabulous! I think I may make this instead of my standard banana nut bread during the holidays. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

