Recipe: Mimi’s Giblet Gravy

I was freaking out because I started looking and searching through Mom’s trusty family cookbook, but I could not find her recipe for Giblet Gravy. You can’t have turkey and dressing without gravy.  Why that would be un-American!  I totally started sounding like Rain Main repeating “giblet, giblet, giblet” while looking through “The Book”. So – I wrote to her and do you know what? She never put that recipe in “The Book”. Shameless, I tell ya! Anyway, she typed it up for us and here it is and now we have a gravy recipe to go along with Mimi’s dressing recipe. Take it away Mimi!

GIBLET GRAVY for CORNBREAD DRESSING

Place the giblets and the neck from a turkey in about 2 quarts of water in a large saucepan. Add a stalk of celery and two chicken bouillon cubes to the water. Add 1 ½ tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. pepper, ½ tsp. celery salt and ½ tsp. onion powder. Bring to a boil over medium heat and then reduce to simmer and cook until meat is very tender. Remove the liver after about thirty minutes of cooking and set aside. Continue cooking remaining ingredients until meat on the neck of the turkey is falling apart. More water can be added as needed.

Remove from heat and place giblets in a bowl to cool. Reserve the broth for gravy base. Chop half of heart, half of gizzard, and half of the liver as well as about half of the meat from the neck and add to the reserved broth. Use the other half of the chopped giblets and the celery in your dressing. Place three serving spoons of raw dressing in the broth and giblet mixture.

Boil two or three eggs, cool, peel and set aside.

Return the broth mixture in the saucepan to medium heat on the stovetop and when almost to a boil, turn heat to low. Mix one tablespoon of cornstarch in a small amount of cool water and gradually stir into the broth mixture to thicken. Cook at least 10 minutes after adding cornstarch. A small amount of Kitchen Bouquet browning and seasoning sauce can be added to give flavor and a little brown color to the gravy. Taste gravy and add additional seasonings if desired.

Just before serving, slice the eggs crosswise into thin slices and add to the gravy. Serve with roast turkey and cornbread dressing.

(See. She types in such detail because “I’m a dork cook in the kitchen” and she knows it.)

Y’all Enjoy!  🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Not a gravy girl. I like butter on my cornbread. Lots of it melting and dripping everywhere. Now, I am off to eat;)

  2. Debra says:

    Thanks much for the cornbread stuffing recipe! It sounds delish and my family loves cornbread — a winning combination. As for gravy, I’ve never made it – don’t know how – my gravy comes from a jar. But I may give this recipe a whirl. If it doesn’t turn out for me, I can always use my gravy-in-a-jar as backup. Thanks a ton! Glad you found your recipe Rain Man…er, I mean SWG 😉

  3. dcamurray says:

    OMG! This sounds FABULOUS! It was sounding just like my mom’s until you got to the “Place three serving spoons of raw dressing in the broth and giblet mixture”. I’d never thought to do that. Very cool.
    I love this!

  4. noble pig says:

    I love the explicit directions.

Leave a Reply

