Recipe: Chocolate Cream Pie

I love me some peach pie, peach cobbler, sour cream apple pie, cherry pie, strawberry pie, pecan pie, lemon ice box pie, lemonade pie, sweet potato pie, chocolate chip pie, and just pie in general, but chocolate pie – Oh! My! Goodness! This is heaven on a fork. My Nanaw’s Homemade Chocolate Cream pie is one of my favorite chocolate desserts and it takes me back to her little kitchen in her house on Evangeline Street. Helping her mix the ingredients and stirring the pie pudding in the glass double boiler on her old gas stove. She loved that stove – I could tell you stories about that stove, that kitchen, that little two bedroom/1 bath house they lived in for over 60 years, but not today. Today is about PIE. P-I-E. Pie! Fluffy, chocolaty goodness that will make everything right with the world. Well – until the last piece is gone anyway.

Nanaw’s Chocolate Cream Pie

2 heaping (and I mean heaping) Tablespoons of cocoa powder
2 cups milk (please use whole milk – seriously, it does make a difference)
5 Tablespoons flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 Tablespoon butter (this too makes difference, use real butter please)
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs, separated
dash salt

Heat milk in top of double boiler over boiling water. Mix cocoa, sugar, flour and salt together and add slowly to the milk, stirring constantly. (I was the designated stir person. Grab a child. Make them stir.) Stir until thickened and cook for 15 minutes. Add slightly beaten egg yolks and cook 3 minutes longer. Add butter, cool slightly and add vanilla. Pour into a baked pie shell. Make meringue of egg whites and 3 Tablespoons of sugar (beat in electric mixer at high speed until stiff peaks form.) Place meringue on top of chocolate filling and bake at 350 degrees until light golden color appears on meringue.

Cool. Cut. Serve. Take a bite and discover a slice of heaven!

Let’s all sing The Pie Song!

Y’all Enjoy! 😉

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Cool. Cut. Serve. Repeat.

  2. Kath says:

    Save a piece for me!!!!!!

  3. dcamurray says:

    I’m not sure if that’s the exact same recipe, but I know that it’s HOW my mama always made our chocolate pie (I was the stirrer so I know). And it was THE BEST!! None of this chocolate pudding mix stuff and calling it chocolate pie. No – this stuff right here ROCKS.
    Gosh, thanks for the reminder.

  4. caroldee says:

    My aunt gave me her recipe and it was with nestles QUIK.. very similar to yours.. it was more milk chocolate though.. Never Never any left either. IN fact at family gatherings they would have to draw numbers to see who got to eat a slice.. too manypeople and not enough PIE! heheh Take care.. : )

Leave a Reply

