Recipe: Traditional Pecan Pie

Do you know what pops into my head when I hear “pecan pie”? When Harry Met Sally – the movie. And, they are standing in the museum and he is joking around asking her to go on a date…sort of. Here’s the dialogue.

Harry Burns: Repeat after me. Pepper.
Sally Albright: Pepper.
Harry Burns: Pepper.
Sally Albright: Pepper.
Harry Burns: Waiter, there is too much pepper on my paprikash.
Sally Albright: Waiter, there is too much pepper on my paprikash.
Harry Burns: But I would be proud to partake of your pecan pie.

Then he draws it out saying PEEEEE- CAAAANNNNN PIIIIIIEEEEE! Here’s the movie clip of that scene!

I love Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan in that movie.  That is one DVD I must find this year. 

Anyway, do you know what I love more than Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan?  My Mom’s Peeee-caaannnn Piiiieeeee!  Peeeee-cannnnn Pie!  Until last year, I had never attempted to make it myself because I always thought this was one of those pies that there was some super secret step or ingredient that she put in it that made it so wonderful.  But, last year I finally decided to make it and do you know what?  It was just like Mom’s.  And, (if you’ve visited this BLOG long enough – you know the next sentence) it is so darn EASY to make.  The only secret I can tell you about is ‘MAKE YOUR OWN CRUST’.  Homemade crust on this pie does make a difference.  Store bought crust is just too thin.  With that in mind, I’ll post a crust recipe at the bottom of this post.  Tighten your apron strings, Effie – we’re gonna make some Good Ol’ Traditional Southern Pecan Pie.

Mimi’s Pecan Pie

1 cup white corn syrup
1 cup dark brown sugar
1/3 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup melted butter (don’t use margarine – use real butter)
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 eggs, slightly beaten
1 heaping cup pecans
unbaked pie shell (9″)

Mix first five ingredients well and add eggs.  Mix well again.  Pour into the unbaked pie shell and sprinkle with pecans.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 to 50 minutes.  Cool on rack before cutting.  (use strips of foil to protect the edges of your pie from getting too brown.)

Pie Crust

1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup Crisco shortening
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup milk (I like to use whole milk, but 2 % is okay)

Mix flour and salt.  Cut in the Crisco to make a crumbly mixture.  Stir in milk to form dough.  Divide in half.  Roll out on floured pastry cloth to form a circle where edges of the crust will hang over your pie plate at least 1 inch or so.  You really want your crust to be right on the edge or slightly over because it will shrink a little when it is cooking.  And ladies, you know how we hate things that shrink. 😉 Trim the edges and pinch with your fingers to form a pretty scalloped ridge around the edge.  Use a fork to prick the crust here and there inside the pan so the crust won’t bubble up.  This recipe makes 2 crusts.

Y’all Enjoy!  🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. One of my all time faves! The key is the white corn syrup–you can take that to the bank from this ol’ Tennessee girl;)

  2. dcamurray says:

    You know. . . it’s funny because I’VE never made pecan pie before either. It’s just something that I leave for my mom. It’s HER signature dish and I, too, thought it had to be some highly guarded secret or super difficult to make. I guess I should have known how easy it was. . . cuz this nut didn’t fall far from the tree. I’m ALL about some easy.
    I believe you’ve given me the confidence to give it a shot. Not on the pie crust though. . . that still intimidates the crap out of me.

  3. starwoodgal says:

    @ Mental P. Mamma: You’re correct about the White Karo. That is the secret!

  4. Jamie says:

    I LOVE Pecan Pie. I am sure you don’t have to buy your pecans at the grocery store, you probably can get them fresh down in Arkansas. So I take it you call it peeecaaaan and not paah-con. Up north here, we aren’t sure what the proper way to say it is. 🙂

  5. caroldee says:

    I heard Paula Deen say that her secret was the real CANE syrup in her pies.. whichever way you make them they are yummy.. Sad I can’t eat the darn crust anymore.. too much grease. I have made them for years and found them really easy.. : )

Leave a Reply

