Recipe: Orange Pecans

With the holidays approaching quickly, I want to begin sharing some recipes for things you can make yourself and give as gifts to friends, co-workers, neighbors, etc.  It is a lot less expensive to make homemade treats yourself and the person receiving the gifts appreciates the love you put into making it. 

While walking through Sam’s Club the other evening, I noticed huge bags of shelled pecans. I love nuts! The kind in the shell and the human kind.  🙂  This got me to thinking about recipes I make for Thanksgiving and Christmas. The price was pretty good considering someone else had already shelled the pecans. I’ll usually create a gift container containing a batch of homemade cookies or chocolates, seasoned oyster crackers, and one of my pecans recipes. Today I’m sharing the recipe for the orange pecans and tomorrow I’ll share the spiced pecans recipe (hubby loves both, but I prefer the spicy ones. They’ve got some kick!) So, go buy yourself some pecans and make ya some! (Do you say pe’-cons or pee-cans?)

Orange Pecans

Juice and rind of one large orange
1 cup sugar
1 quart of whole pecan halves

Grate rind of orange and then squeeze orange for juice. Place rind, juice and sugar in a large cast iron skillet and bring to a full rolling boil (I’m copying straight from Mimi’s cookbook.  Honestly, you can use any pan.)  Add pecan halves and stir constantly until sugar is absorbed. Remove from heat and continue to stir until nuts separate. Turn out onto waxed paper to dry. Store in an airtight container.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I am so making these! Thanks;)

  2. mealsbysheri says:

    Can’t wait to make these! Bet they would be wonderful on a sald with Raspberry Vinegrette! Or as a treat with Christmas packages!

Leave a Reply

