Recipe: Homemade Instant Hot Chocolate

Do you ever buy those boxes of instant hot chocolate that taste like instant chocolate flavored water? There’s really no way around it. They taste like instant chocolate water to me. I guess I don’t like them because Mom always mixed up her own version of instant hot chocolate. I really love this because it is delicious and easy for kids to make and give to teachers or neighbors as a holiday gift and very cheap when you figure out how many cups you can make compared to the other store bought version. Give it a try!

Mimi’s Homemade Instant Hot Chocolate

7 oz. container of powdered coffee creamer
1 lb. box powdered sugar
1 lb. container of Nestle’s Quick Chocolate Powder
1 (8 quart). package of powdered milk

Mix all ingredients together until well blended. Store in an airtight container. To serve, mix two tablespoons or more if desired into one cup of boiling water. Add miniature marshmallows. Voila! Homemade Instant Hot Chocolate!

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna in VA says:

    It’s starting to get hot chocolate season. While we had 88 degrees last week, it’s now hovering around 60. It’s a shock to my delicate summer-loving system. I think hot chocolate should help cure some of my whining.

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Debra says:

    You are so right! I love hot cocoa but dislike the instant varieties that taste like chocolate water. Yuck! I like my hot cocoa creamy. This is definately a keeper!

  3. Lisa Wilson says:

    This sounds goooood and it would be easy for my kids! Thanks for this recipe. The only kind of instant hot chocolate I will drink is Nestle Double Chocolate Meltdown, and I mix it with milk. 🙂

  4. Kath says:

    Love this stuff!! Its a must to have in the house during the winter at.all.times!

    Great to give as gifts too!!!

  5. noble pig says:

    How absolutely yummy!

  6. What a wonderful gift idea!

  7. caroldee says:

    Sounds good I will give it a try. I like the sugar free kind now.. get too much buzz off the sugar ones. 🙂

Leave a Reply

