Recipe: Easy Homemade Chili

This past weekend, my hubby and I took a mini-break with his sister and her husband. We drove over to Yellville, Arkansas and rented a cabin. We canoed 9.5 miles down the Buffalo River on Saturday and then a shorter float (4.5 miles) on Sunday. The men fished and the girls enjoyed the scenery. The weather was cool and perfect for making some homemade chili. This recipe is easy-schmeezy. I’ll post a couple of photos at the bottom of the post.

Dauna’s (my sister) Easy Chili

1 large onion, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped
1 pound ground beef or venison
1 cup tomato sauce (8 oz. can)
2 cups canned tomatoes (1 lb. can)
2 tablespoons chili powder
2 teaspoons salt
4 cups cooked or canned kidney beans (2 cans – drained of juice)

Crumble ground beef into heated frying pan. Add onion and green pepper, and cook until tender. Add remaining ingredients and stir. Cook slowly for 45 minutes.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

Me! Canoe driver.
Me! Canoe driver.
The Painted Bluffs at Buffalo Point
The Painted Bluffs at Buffalo Point
Our Cabin
Our Cabin
Tims Fish
Tim's Fish
Our Group! Tim, Jamie (me), Trent and Kay
Our Group! Tim, Jamie (me), Trent and Kay
5 Comments Add yours

  1. Kath says:

    Looks like a fun weekend. The cabin is adorable. And it was nice seeing you! Now a face to go with the name.

    Oh, cute purse!

    Chili is one of my favorite foods.

  2. Beautiful scenery! What a cutie you are;) Now you must excuse me because I need to go have some chili.

  3. Donna in VA says:

    Aawwhh – what great pictures! I love pictures! When I went whitewater rafting a couple of years ago in West Virginia, we stayed in a cabin that looked exactly like that. It was so fun! But next time, I’ll go to WATCH. I was so sore the next day, I screamed while trying to get in the truck.
    I’m glad you had such a great weekend!

  4. Debra Rector says:

    mmmm..I LOVE chili! I make a gigantic batch in my slow cooker and we eat from it for days. It’s great topped with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and chopped lettuce.

    It looks like you had fun at the cabin. It looks so cozy and quaint.

  5. Fizz says:

    WOW! Those photo’s are just stunning! I have made a note so that I can go on vacation there. It looks positively lovely!

Leave a Reply

