Recipe: Cranberry Apple Casserole

This recipe has been on the Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner tables for the past 10 years and I still can’t decide if it is actually a “casserole” or if it is a dessert.  I’m completely confused by this dish.  It is hot and bubbly and served in a casserole dish alongside the turkey and mashed potatoes.  Then, again – I’ve been known to eat it hot over vanilla ice cream.  Or stone cold out of the refrigerator (if there are any leftovers).  It is cobbler? No.  Is it a casserole like a veggie? No.  I know! We’ll call it a Cassert!  It is perfect either way.

Mimi’s Cranberry Apple Casserole (aka Cassert)

3 cups apples, peeled, cored and chopped
2 cups cranberries
2 tablespoons flour
1 cup granulated sugar

Topping:
1 cup pecans, chopped
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup flour
1/2 stick butter, melted

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Combine apples and cranberries, toss with flour and sugar.  Spoon into a greased baking dish.  Mix topping and spoon over the fruit.  Bake for 30 to 40 minutes.

Y’all Enjoy!  🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna in VA says:

    Oh my goodness! That sounds to die for! Kinda like a cobbler it sounds, but whatever it is, I’m trying it!!

  2. Kath says:

    This sounds like a another goodie.

    Made the Chicken broccoli casserole and it was really good. Went over very well.

  3. Debra Rector says:

    OMG! I am sooooo hungry right now. I just inhaled a small bag of Chex Mix and was contemplating raiding the vending machine when I read your recipe. I want some…now…immediately…over ice cream. Do you deliver????

  4. Debra Rector says:

    P.S. I hope you don’t mind tht I added you to my blog roll.

  5. noble pig says:

    Awesome. Between you me and The Recipe Girl…we all had this on the brain!

Leave a Reply

