Book Contest – WE HAVE A WINNER!

Well – Thanks to everyone who entered and your stories.  Several of you picked “The Notebook” as your favorite story.  Some selected “A Bend in the Road” and some selected Mr. Spark’s Non-Fiction story “Three Weeks with my Brother”.  If I had to pick a favorite movie based on one of his Novels, it would be  “The Notebook”.  As for selecting a favorite book, I just can’t – I love them all.    I will tell you that during the breakfast, Mr. Sparks told us about the real couple that he based “The Notebook” on.  Noah and Allie were based on his wife’s grandparents.  She was very close to her grandparents and on the day of Mr. Sparks’ and his wife’s wedding, the grandparents called and said they were too ill to attend the wedding.  Of course, they went on with the wedding and reception, but he said “the next morning when we woke up, I turned and looked at my beautiful wife and she said to me:  “Nick, do you love me?”.  He said “of course I love you.”  “Good!”, she replied, “because you’re going to do exactly what I say.”  (the audience laughed really hard and he said “Marriage, right?”).  Then he went on to tell us that he put his tux back on and his wife put her wedding gown back on.  They grabbed wedding cake, a video of the wedding that someone gave them, and the flowers her grandparents were suppose to wear and headed for her grandparent’s house were that spent the day after their wedding with her grandparents and had a mini-wedding so they could see it all.  He said Kathy’s grandfather told him the story of how he and his wife met when they were teenagers and how her parents didn’t approve.  She became engaged to someone else (just like Allie), but came back to him and they married.  She was suffering from Alzheimer’s Disease and he really did tell her the story of how they met…… every day.  

Of course, you can imagine the entire room of breakfast attendees were hanging on every word.  I’m sitting there trying not to blubber like an idiot.  But, I think that is why his stories touch people and why the stories are so popular.  They are characters we can believe are real because the same things that happen to us or to people we know happens to the characters.  Anyway, I just thought you’d like to hear the real story of the basis for “The Notebook”.

Okay! On with the winner. 

I went over to Random.org and ran the random integer creator set with 1 result based on the 28 entries.

and pressed Get Numbers:

Look at that! Lucky 13! On October 13th – it is serendipity at it’s finest!

And the Winner is…………………..  Caroldee!

Congrats to Caroldee!  Please email me your name and address to: jamiea715@hotmail.com

Thanks again everyone. We’ll have another contest soon.

Have a great Monday! 🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Kath says:

    Congrats to Caroldee.

    Thanks for the inside story to the Notebook. How neat is that. I will be picking up a Nicholas Sparks book the next time I make it to the library.

  2. dcamurray says:

    I’m so happy for Caroldee. She’s been a blog friend of mine for awhile now.

    As for Mr. Sparks story at breakfast. . . “I” would have been the blubbering idiot. I got teary-eyed just “reading” about it. But then I’ve turned into a complete sap that way.

    Great giveaway!

  3. Kate says:

    I have got to do that random integer thing. Awesome.

    by the way, send me your address, ok? Because you won a picture in my contest.

    Congrats!

  4. caroldee says:

    OH HOW WONDERFUL I AM SO HONORED AND THRILLED TO HAVE THIS BOOK.. THANKS SO MUCH..

Leave a Reply

