Book Contest! Win Signed Copy of Nicholas Sparks’ “The Lucky One”

Good Afternoon Blogladites and Welcome to my FIRST BLOG CONTEST / GIVEAWAY!

As some of you may have previously read my post regarding Nicholas Sparks’ novel Nights in Rodanthe and the movie based on that novel or my post back in August when I first found out about the book signing for his new novel, The Lucky One, and how thrilled I was when someone from my husband’s office offered me a free ticket to attend the “Conversations with Nicholas Sparks Event sponsored by the Rogers Public Library Foundation. Well – I’m happy to say I went to the breakfast this morning and had a fabulous time.

The event was hosted by Embassy Suites of Northwest Arkansasin the Pinnacle Ballroom. There were tables upon tables of Sparklettes (those are his fans), men, women and some teenagers, gathered to have breakfast and hear Mr. Sparks tell his story of how he became a writer. Mr. Sparks also spoke of his hometown, New Bern, North Carolina, where he lives with his wife, five children, and three dogs. He also spoke of the local school there and how he coaches track at the local high school. Mr. Sparks was enteraining, funny, articulate, and interesting. Clearly everyone who attended had a good time as subtle laughter and applause drifted in and out throughout his conversation.

If you enjoyed Mr. Sparks’ novel “Dear John”, you’ll be happy to hear that it was just optioned to be made into a movie by the same director who did “The Notebook” and other stories from his collection of writings. Filming begins next February. If you haven’t read it, read it. It is a good story.

I was pretty ding-dang fortunate because I happened to be wearing an “event sponsor” wrist band and ended up being one of the first in line to have my books signed. I’m giving away a signed copy of his latest novel “The Lucky One”. I’ve read it and enjoyed it very much. I’m keeping one for myself and I’m giving one away today to one “LUCKY” reader. To enter my VERY FIRST BLOG CONTEST, all you have to do is leave a post and tell me about your favorite Nicholas Sparks Novel or movie based on one of his novels. The winner will be selected randomly using a random number generator, so everyone has the same chance depending on how many people enter the contest.  BTW – I’m giving this away, not some sponsored ad or promotion. Just lil’ ol’ me.  Why?  Just because I love sharing things I enjoy and well – just ‘cuz!  So there – I’ve gotta run ‘cuz hubby needs food and is about to pass out.  Y’all have a good weekend. 

PS:  The contest ends Sunday, 10/12/08 at midnight and I will announce the winner on Monday.

Good Luck!

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Lisa Wilson says:

    Well I’ve only just started reading Nicholas’ books, and The Notebook is the only one I’ve read so far. I have to say for the movies, The Notebook and Message in a Bottle are tied for me, although I like Diane Lane so much I may change my mind after seeing the new movie.

  2. Yan says:

    The Notebook has been up there for me. I watched it like a billizon times, and still love it.

    I’m hoping to win so I can fall in love with another one of his works~

  3. dcamurray says:

    I haven’t seen The Notebook or read any of his books yet, but I plan to. I’m definitely seeing Nights in Rodanthe. He’s sneaking closer and closer to the top of my To-Read list.

    I’m glad you had such a good time at your breakfast. Pretty classy, it sounds.

  4. First of all, thanks for the contest. This is fun!

    Second, my favorite book by Nicholas Sparks would have to be The Notebook only because it was the first – I was given the paperback copy for free and read it in an afternoon on a hammock in my parent’s backyard and cried and smiled through the whole thing. At the end of the book, I wanted to start reading it all over again!

    I have read all of his books (except for the memoir, which I did start, but have temporarily misplaced) and I love each of them! I’m looking forward to seeing the Nights in Rodanthe movie soon.

    Melissa 🙂
    http://www.melissamorris.wordpress.com

  5. Amy says:

    Nights in Rodanthe. Enough said XD

  6. Kath says:

    Glad you had such a good time at the breakfast. How fun.

    I have only seen The Notebbok several times. Love the movie. Cry everytime I see it.

    The first time I seen it was when I was at the Mall of America in MN with my mother-in-law. First movie she had ever been to in all of her 74 years. She loved it. It was a fun time that I will always remember.

  7. Txgirl says:

    I loved The Notebook. Then once when I was sick my boyfriend stayed home with me and we watched the movie. He cried. I married him.

  8. Linda says:

    Oh, definitely the Notebook. That book touched me so much. My mother has Alzheimer’s and this certainly hit home for me. It has been years, and as she progresses, I always think back to that book and feel my father’s struggle as she forgets who he is. He is her father one day, a man who works where she lives, and very seldom the man she married 55 years ago! Most times she remembers my sister and I, sometimes not! The main thing is we will never forget who she is and love her for the great person she is!
    Thanks for the opportunity to win, I too think he is a great writer!

  9. Brandi says:

    Great contest! I read your comment on Pioneer Woman and stopped by just to enter, but after reading some recipes I’ll definitely be a regular visitor. 🙂

    My favorite Nicholas Sparks book actually isn’t a novel. It’s his non-fiction book Three Weeks With my Brother. I loved it. I’m a travel junkie, so I loved it for the rich descriptions and stories of the far flung places they visited, but I also loved how he paired it with true stories from his own family–especially his sister. I laughed and cried as much through that book as I have through any of his novels.

    Next on my list to read is The Notebook. I’m probably the last woman in the world who hasn’t read the book OR seen the movie. I know, I know! I read The Wedding not realizing it was a sequel and loved it.

    I don’t know if you’ve ever had the chance to visit the Outer Banks of North Carolina (where he lives and where many of books take place), but the area is one of the most beautiful I’ve been to in the world. It’s actually how I came to hear of Nicholas Sparks. We were going there on vacation several years ago and I was looking for books about the area. Nicholas Sparks’ novels kept popping up so I started reading them. I was in love with the place before we even got there.

    O.K., sorry for rambling for so long 🙂

    ~Brandi

    http://douglassdiaries.blogspot.com/

  10. lynn says:

    when i heard the name nicholas sparks, i knew i had heard it before and, of course, it was the notebook. i saw the movie a few years ago and it was very special, especially after learning that he had based it on the story of his grandparents. a great book and movie based on a very beautiful love story.

  11. Pat says:

    Ditto what Linda says. My mother too has Alzheimers. I saw the Notebook before she was diagnosed and then several times since. Mr. Sparks deals with a devastating condition in a beautiful manner, and the love story is superb. I’ve read several of his books and have loved them all.

  12. Cheryl E. Smith says:

    The Notebook is awesome.

    A must for anyone who wants a soul touching read.

  13. caroldee says:

    The movie The Notebook made me cry and cry. How lovely a man and woman’s love story. I look forward to seeing all the movies that come from this brilliant man’s writing. Being a caregiver all my life I know the struggles first hand of family members not being able to communicate with the one who is “elsewhere” in this universe. My grandmother died of Alzheimers and rarely knew any of us children or her grandchildren. Anyone who can put those feelings into words is a truly special writer. : )

  14. Asthmagirl says:

    Thanks for the visit today! And the invitation to enter your contest. I’ve not read any of Mr. Sparks books or seen any of his movies. However as a book fiend, I generally read everything that enters my orbit, so I’d love the chance to try one of his books.
    Thanks again for the invitation!

  15. ladyfi says:

    A competition? And the chance of winning a book? Wonderful! So, please count me in!

  16. noble pig says:

    I have never read one of his books but I’m sure they are wonderful.

  17. chrissy ray says:

    Def. the notebook…I enjoyed every minute of it..masterful writing.

  18. Tamra says:

    I really liked A Walk To Remember. Heck I love all of his books actually. I don’t think I’ve read one that doesn’t make me laugh, cry AND ponder. To me that makes a good book. I did like the Notebook but I lost my grandmother to Alzheimers so it was a sad reminder of the horrible disease.

  19. Karen says:

    The Notebook is my favorite but I am looking forward to seeing Nights In Rodanthe my mother saw it & loved it.

  20. Teressa H says:

    The only one I have red is The Notebook and loved it.

  21. Janet says:

    I, too, have not read his books. I write children’s and middle grade. I tend to read what I write. I would love the chance to read his book and become a fan. Thank you for the opportunity.

  22. carolynmiller says:

    I love the book “the Wedding”.

  23. Sam says:

    Oh…it’s like having to choose between your children. Kinda. I am a HUGE Nicholas Sparks fan. I think it’s a toss up, really, between all of his works. I think The Guardian really rose to the top for me, because I am an animal lover and love that an animal plays a key role in this novel. I also love that it has a mystery element, which is an unusal genre for him. Anyway, I love them all…truly. He’s an amazing author.

  24. Blessed says:

    I can’t remember that I’ve ever read any of his books – but I’m always game to give a new author a try!

  25. Emily says:

    I loved The Notebook. I saw Nights in Rodanthe a few weeks ago and I thought it was good but my favorite is The Notebook.

  26. Dee from Tennessee says:

    Love, love his books….probably “The Wedding,” but, then again, maybe “The Notebook,”…geez, I like them all. Oh, and his website, one of the BEST by an author. Just great.

    Thanks for the opportunity. And how LUCKY you are to have got to go and meet him! Good for you!

  27. Henrietta says:

    Hi! Traveled over from PW’s site 🙂 yours looks great too and I’ll be reading it often.
    I recently heard of Nicholas Sparks and read his book ” A bend in the road” it was pretty good. I have The Notebook on DVR but haven’t watched it yet because I’d like to read the book first, lol I’m funny that way.

    Great contest! Thanks for posting about it on PW so we could find you!

  28. Angela says:

    The Notebook – definetly! I’ve read it twice and I’ve seen the movie several times! I also loved A bend in the Road.

Leave a Reply

