Recipe: Chicken Tetrazzini

Wow! Some days I find myself really wishing I could just pick up the phone and call my Nanaw to have a nice chat.  I can hardly believe she has been gone for almost 3 years.  My middle name is Louise, named after my Nanaw.   She was Louise to her sisters.  My cousins all called her Aunt Wezee and my grandfather called her Wezee.  I can hear his voice in my head calling her from the yard when he had a tub of freshly picked vegetables from the garden. 

Anywhoooo, to get out of my missing my Nanaw funk today.  I looked at some photos, cried a little bit and then called my mother, who (by weird way of women’s intiution) was feeling much the same way I was and had been going through some of Nanaw’s old photos that day.  We had a good laugh over some of the funny things Nanaw use to do and say and we both felt better by the end of our conversation.  Funny how that works, isn’t it.

For today’s recipe I wanted to share Nanaw’s homemade Chicken Tetrazzini.  Now, I know there a boxed versions of tetrazzini on the shelves at your local big box store, but trust me – this is the real deal and very, very good.  It isn’t difficult to prepare at all.  Heck, even I can cook it and not mess it up! Here we go….

Nanaw’s Chicken Tetrazzini

1 package (8 oz.) broad egg noodles
1 can (3 oz.) sliced mushrooms, drained
1/4 cup butter
1 medium onion, chopped
2 Tablespoons flour
2 teaspoons salt and pepper
2 1/2 cups milk
2 cups cooked chicken
2 Tablespoons Parmesan cheese

Cook noodles until tender.  (Hint: I save the chicken broth that I stewed the chicken in and cook my noodles in the broth for extra flavor.)  Drain the cooked noodles, but save a little of the broth (see Nanaw’s note below).  Cook mushrooms and chopped onion in butter until soft.  Stir in flour, salt, and pepper.  Add milk gradually, stirring constantly until sauce bubbles (don’t let it scorch).  Toss in chicken and cheese.  Heat together.  Put noodles in a greased (butter) casserole and cover with the sauce.  Bake 12 to 15 minutes in a 400 degree oven. 

(**Note from Nanaw: “I use some chicken broth as part of the amount of milk called for.”) 

She always wrote down her secrets on family recipe cards.  The little minx….. she always had something she added or changed and we always wondered why ours didn’t taste “just like hers did”.  She’d just smile and say “I don’t know?”  Then, again – she did love playing games.  I could never beat her playing Scrabble!

Miss you, Nanaw!

Y’all Enjoy the Chicken Tetrazzini!  🙂

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kath says:

    I have been wanting to make this lately. I’m just never home to do it! My mom adds in a little dry mustard to the sauce. This is one of my favorite dishes. So easy and tasty. Always a hit with the kids too.

  2. That looks like a wonderful and comforting version….

  3. dcamurray says:

    What a nice story! My grandmother, God rest her soul, couldn’t cook to save her life. But she was the sweetest thing God ever put on this earth. She never met a stranger and she loved EVERYBODY! I miss my mamaw too.

Leave a Reply

