Recipe: Cherry Pie – My all-time favorite

My great-grandmother (Mamaw Bussey) NEVER measured anything.  Over the years, my grandmother and mother watched her make this pie so many times they finally figured out some measurements for cooking amateurs (Like ME!) who need to follow written directions to make anything turn out correctly.  This has always been my favorite pie.  I know, I know – I rant, drool, and fantasize about peach pie and peach cobbler, but truth be know – this is it.  I’d turn down every known dessert on earth to have a slice of my great-grandmother’s cherry pie with vanilla ice cream on top.  I hope you enjoy the recipe.   I’m also including my family pie crust recipe at the bottom of the post. 

Mamaw Bussey’s Cherry Pie

1 cup sugar
3 cups canned red cherries (drained, save the juice)
1/3 cup flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup liquid from cherries
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
1/8 teaspoon red food color
2 teaspoons butter
1 egg yolk
Pastry for 2 crusts

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Make Pastry (see recipe below).  Combine sugar, flour, and salt.  Stir in cherry liquid.  Place in pan and bring to boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes or until thickened.  Add almond extract and food color.  Add cherries and refrigerate.  Place cooled mixture in pie shell; dot with butter; cover with top crust.  Brush top crush with egg yolk which has been beaten with 1 Tablespoon water.  Bake @ 425 degrees for 35 minutes.

Pie Crust (this makes two crusts)

1 1/2 cups plain flour
1/2 cup Crisco shortening
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup milk

Sift flour and salt.  Blend in shortening until mixture is crumbly.  Add milk and stir until a ball can be formed.  Cut ball in half.  Roll out on floured pastry cloth to make a circle large enough to hang over pie pan edge.  Place in pan. Fit to pan and trim edges.  Press edges with fingers or a fork dipped in flour.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kath says:

    I bet this tastes so much better than canned pie filling.

Leave a Reply

