Recipe: Sour Cream Apple Pie

Sour Cream and Apple Pie?  I know that you’re probably thinking “Is she nuts?”, but trust me – this is a wonderful pie.  The recipe was handed down by my Great Aunt Nez (short for Nathalie).  She was a very soft-spoken southern women from Jackson, Mississippi and my grandfather’s only sister.  She had that southern Mississippi accent and I loved to hear her speak and tell stories.  She had no children of her own and we were her girls (my mother, my sister and I).  I have many treasured heirlooms from her home that she left to us when she passed away.  I’ll get around to taking pictures of my ‘Pur-tees” (as she would call them) and share them with you all sometime.  Today, I wanted to share this recipe with you.  Apples are coming for harvest time.  Y’all get out there and get’cha some and make this pie.  It is da-lish! 🙂

Aunt Nez’s Sour Cream Apple Pie

2 cups diced apples
2 eggs
1 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg (you can use cinnamon if you don’t like nutmeg)
2 Tablespoons Flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup sugar

Sift dry ingredients into mixing bowl.  Add eggs, sour cream and vanilla and beat to a thin smooth batter.  Blend in apples and pour into an unbaked pie crust.  Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.  Then at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  Remove from oven and top with mixture of:

1/4 cup soft margarine
1/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Bake 10 minutes longer at 400 degrees

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

3 Comments Add yours

  1. dcamurray says:

    Hey! I’m from Meridian, Mississippi originally, not far from your Great Aunt Nez. And I say “Pur-tee” too. In fact, I had a neighbor once, who was from Maryland, and we were drinking a bottle of wine one night and she was trying her darndest to say “pur-tee”, but she never quite got it. It was SO funny. MUST be a Southern thing.

    This recipe sounds fabulous!

    Just so you know. . . there are a whole slew of recipes of yours that I’ve been trying. . . and will be featuring on my site, if you don’t mind. I by all means will give you credit! They are all so good!! I am tickled to have stumbled onto your site.

    Oh – and I like the new colors too!

  2. starwoodgal says:

    @Dcamurray:
    I’m so glad you are enjoying the recipes. That is the main purpose of this site – to share some relatively easy recipes that are down-home delicious. You are more than welcome to use them on your site and I appreciate the link back when you post the recipes.

    I’ll keep the recipes coming. I love to hear how much my readers are enjoying them.

    Thanks again!

    Jamie
    aka Starwoodgal

  3. Nevadanne says:

    Hi, Jamie! This sounds so good! My gramma used to make a sour cream raisin pie that was out of this world! Marie Cals makes one but it just isnt’ the same. Do you think I could substitute blueberries for the apple? May have to give this one a try this weekend! *Ü*

Leave a Reply

