Recipe: Yellow Squash Casserole

With gardening season rolling to an end, friends, family and neighbors are showing up at my door with all kinds of vegetables trying to give them away.  I’m no dummy!  Of course I gladly and gratefully accept their gifts.  🙂  A friend from work gave me some squash and I thought I’d share my family squash recipewith you today.  We’ll start with the Yellow squash recipe today and I’ll post the Zucchini recipe tomorrow.

Mimi’s Yellow Squash Casserole

2 lbs. squash, sliced (6 cups)
1/4 cup chopped onion
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 cup shredded carrots
8 oz. pkg Pepperidge Farm Herb Stuffing Mix
1/2 cup melted butter
1 cup sour cream
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
garlic salt

Cook squash and onion in boiling, salted water for 5 minutes.  Drain and combine soup, sour cream, shredded carrots, cheese and garlic salt with squash and onions.  Combine stuffing mix with melted butter and spread half of it in the bottom of a 12 x 7 inch baking dish.  Spoon squash mixture on top and sprinkle remaining stuffing mixture over squash.  Bake at 350 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes.

Ya’ll Enjoy! 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. One of my all time faves! But I never did the carrots…great idea.

Leave a Reply

