Recipe: Gran-Dale’s Homemade Apple Butter

Back in the early 80’s, my parents lived in Eden, North Carolina for about 4 years.  While they were there, my father enjoyed going to the apple orchards, picking fresh apples and making his homemade apple butter.  My daughter would eat this stuff by the bowl full if I’d let her when she was little.  Who am I kidding, she’d do that now…..if I’d let her.  This is so easy and wonderful and delicious.  Borrow a few crock pots from your friends and whip up a big batch from this fall’s apple harvest.  I know we love it and I hope you love it too!

Gran-Dale’s Homemade Apple Butter

Fresh, Tart Apples (however many it takes to fill the crock pot)
3 Teaspoons Ground Cinnamon
1/8 Teaspoon Ground Cloves
Dash Salt
4 Cups Sugar

Peel, core and slice apples thin.  Chop apples and fill a large crock pot to the rim.  Cover and cook on low heat for 18 hours.  Stir in other ingredients and return to crock pot to cook for four hours longer.  (Can be blended in the blender before cooking final four hours for a smoother apple butter).  Place in sterilized jars and seal with heated two piece lids.

Ya’ll Enjoy!  🙂

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds delicious. Apple Butter is not something I have tried before so am greatly looking forward to giving this recipe a go. Thanks heaps for the info 🙂

  2. Oh I love apple butter…this looks totally doable. Even for me;)

  3. Janet says:

    We seem to make the same things. I love apple butter. I make stove top apple butter, I don’t like the store bought kind.

Leave a Reply

