Recipe: Stuffed Bell Peppers

While rifling through my family cookbook, I ran across my Aunt Polly’s recipe for Stuffed Bell Peppers.  We lost Aunt Polly this summer at the age of 93.  She was my grandmother’s sister and such a sweet soul.  Very old southern.  She still believed in wearing white gloves to church on Sundays.  I want to honor her today by sharing this recipe with you, my Bloggy friends.  Why?  because it is good stuff, and I love it, and I want you to have it too!  🙂

This is one of the easiest recipes to make and very (say it with me southern style) Da-lish!. 

Aunt Polly’s Stuffed Bell peppers

1 Pound ground meat (I like using 1/2 pound hamburger and 1/2 pound hot sausage for flavor, but do what you like.  Ground beef, ground turkey, ground pork.  It all works.)
6 Bell peppers- I like to buy two of each color as it looks so pretty when you serve it.  Red, green and yellow peppers.
3 cups crumbled cornbread – again, I’ve substituted with jalapeno cornbread sometimes and this really adds kick.
2 BIG onions, chopped (I like using the sweet yellows ones)
2 Chopped bell peppers
Salt & Pepper to taste

Mix meat, onions, chopped peppers and seasonings.  Cook in skillet.  Blanch Peppers in hot water (about 3 minutes will do it.)  Cut tops off peppers and place in small casserole dish, standing to form cups.  Mix crumbled cornbread with meat mixture and stuff into the peppers.  Bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes.

If you’d like to put a tomato sauce on top, mix brown sugar with ketchup and put about two tablespoons on top of each pepper. 

Ya’ll enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

