The Golden Ticket – I won!

I feel like Charlie from The Willy Wonka movie – I FOUND THE GOLDEN TICKET!

Thursday night, hubby hubba-hubba and I attended the VIP party for the Frisco Festival Committee and vendors. I’m sitting there chatting up some women at the table about the recent books I’ve read by Nicholas Sparks. They asked curiously, “who is he?”. I realize people may not recognize the author until I tell them “He wrote ‘The Notebook’ and ‘A Walk to Remember’ and the movies were based on his novels”, yadda yadda yadda. They always respond with I LOVE THAT MOVIE when they hear the title The Notebook. Any-who, I go on to tell them about the two books I finished this week, ‘Nights in Rodanthe’ and ‘The Choice’, and one of the ladies chimes in with “so you like his work?”. Duh! (I read his work when I need a good story and feel no shame in a hormonally induced cry festival.) This person who asked me ‘if I liked Mr. Sparks’ work’ works with my husband at the bank and then she said, “Well, I have tickets to the breakfast gala on the day of the book signing. Would you like to go as my guest?”. Trying not to snort my glass of wine, “Yes! Yes! I’d love to go!”. I could tell she wasn’t a fan of Mr. Sparks and had no clue why he was famous, but she has to attend the breakfast as she is on the book signing breakfast event committee.  How lucky was that I ask you! So Color me happy! I’m having breakfast with NICHOLAS SPARKS (and about 200 other people)! Me! Mrs. No Good Kharma Ever, EVER, EVER! Me! It was all I could do not to jump up on the table and do a little happy dance. I’m just glad I have over 45 days to plan what I’m going to wear.

Maybe the good Kharma is coming my way for a change. Now – If I could just score some tickets to meet Paula Deen. A Southern girl has to keep her priorities straight, ya know.

I wrote this post ahead of time because I’m probably downtown right now up to my elbows in grilled chicken to sell during Frisco Festival. I know, I lead a glamorous life.

Ya’ll have a good ‘un!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. You should be celebrating with Margarita’s !

  2. Lisa Wilson says:

    I didn’t know he wrote “A Walk to Remember.” I’ve heard “The Notebook” is a better read than the movie. I just haven’t gotten around to reading it because I know it’s gotta be sad.

  3. Julie says:

    I LOVE, LOVE,LOVE Nicholas Sparks! I’ve read ALL of his books. I am soooo jealous but I am happy for you! I am a collector of autographed books which makes me even more jealous but still I am happy for you!

  4. dcamurray says:

    How awesome for you!! You were in the right place at the right time talking the right talk with the right person. Yeah, I’d say Karma was treating you pretty nicely. But honestly, if you get Paula Deen tickets, I’m coming over to rub your head for luck or something.
    Us Southern girls (originally from Mississippi) – we do have our priorities.

Leave a Reply

