Recipe: Nanaw’s Homemade Chili Sauce

A while back, I Blogged about some other recipe and mentioned my grandmother’s homemade chili sauce.  Don’t ask me when I Blogged about it because frankly, I can’t be held accountable for anything I said this morning, much less a few weeks ago.  It is a hormone thing.  But, a neighborly fellow-blogger reminded me about it, so – my apologies.  I was remiss in posting the recipe as promised. 

This stuff is really good over black eyed peas, green beans, meat, etc.  I don’t know what it doesn’t taste good on with the exception of chocolate.  It isn’t really Chili Sauce as much as a tomato Chow-Chow as some might call it.  I don’t care what you call it, IT IS MMMM MMMMM GOOD!  Ya’ll give it a try before those ‘maters are all gone.

Nanaw’s Chili Sauce

12 Large Ripe Tomatoes
3 onions
2 sweet green peppers
2 sweet red peppers
2 tablespoons mixed spice (Mom said these are pickling spices)
2 teaspoons celery seed
2 cups vinegar
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
3 teaspoons salt

 Peel tomatoes and cut in small pieces.  chop the onions and peppers.  Mix all together and add remaining ingredients, having the spices tied in a cheese cloth bag.  Cook until thickened, about one and one-half hours.  Turn into sterilized jars and seal.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Yum. Tomato chow chow over black eyed peas. Now all I need is some cornbread. Yum. Did I say that already?

  2. noble pig says:

    Sounds delicious and I love the name Nanaw!

  3. Debra says:

    I love the name Nanaw! I am a Mimi and I love that too. While at lunch yesterday (Cracker Barrel) with a couple co-workers, we discussed the differences between southern cooking and northern cooking. For one, I had never tasted grits until I moved to Georgia. Yum! I cannot, however, stomach boiled or fried okra and boiled peanuts. You can keep ’em. But one co-worker mentioned a favorite dish that her mother makes. It is very much like your Nanaw’s recipe. This sounds delish! I will definitely make a batch this weekend while the ‘maters are still in season. Thanks!

  4. Oh yummy!!! Nanaw is an adorable name! 🙂

    Happy weekend,
    Melissa

  5. PS those were beautiful photos you shared via the link in my comments. Thanks for sharing them!!!

  6. Kath says:

    Jamie, What is mixed spice? And what else can be used if I do not have any cheesecloth for the spices?

  7. Cynthia says:

    This is almost identical to the chili sauce my grandmother in Georgia used to make and can, except hers used green peppers and green chilies, and had cloves in it as well. It smells heavenly when it is cooking. We used to eat it mostly on vegetables… black-eyed peas, butter beans, green beans, and lima beans to name a few. All of us in my original family loved it and now my husband, kids, and their spouses love it, too! And, Kath, I use pickling spice in a tea ball or tea strainer if I don’t have cheesecloth.

Leave a Reply

