Is it Bread? Is it Dessert? Is it a Breassert?…Butterhorns

Here’s a little diddy from my grandmother’s cookbook. Good Old Fashioned Butterhorns! No, it isn’t anything weird and really quite easy. I like them for breakfast. Or snacks. Or desserts. You get the idea…….I like ’em! I LIKE ‘EM A LOT!

So slap on your apron and give them a try.

Nanaw’s Butterhorns

2 sticks butter
12 oz. creamed small curd cottage cheese
2 C flour
dash flour

Cream butter and cottage cheese. Add flour and salt and mix well. Refrigerate overnight. Divide dough into 3 parts. Roll each part into a circle on a floured pastry cloth. Cut circle into wedges like a pie. Roll each wedge starting at the wide end and ending at the point. Curve slightly and place on a greased cookie sheet with point on the bottom. Bake for 30-40 minutes at 350°. Remove to racks. Glaze with powdered sugar frosting.

Frosting:

2 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons melted butter
½ teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons milk
dash salt

3 Comments Add yours

  1. sounds more desserty to me, but i’d probably have it for breakfast with a big glass of milk!! yum!

  2. Kath says:

    I will have to try this recipe for sure. My hubs likes them.

  3. Kath says:

    Can you email me your chili sauce recipe? If I have all the ingredients on hand I will make it.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

