Recipe: Broccoli and Cauliflower Salad

I’ve been preparing for this weekend’s in-law visit.  So far, I’ve sanded and painted two outdoor iron chairs (garage sale finds @ $5 each), vacuumed all the blinds, organized the kitchen cabinets, vacuumed all the cob webs lurking in corners, wiped down doors and base boards, rebuilt a flagstone path in the backyard, and cleaned all the stuff on top of my kitchen cabinets.  I still have to shampoo the carpet tonight, but that’s not a big deal.  Tomorrow night I am going grocery shopping and I’m going to make this delicious salad for one of our meals this weekend.  It is a “prepare ahead” salad so you don’t have to fuss making things once your guests arrive.  (this also deters MIL’s from insisting on helping and driving you crazy in your kitchen.)  Give it a try. 

Broccoli and Cauliflower Salad

1 lb. fresh cauliflower, chopped
1 lb. fresh broccoli, chopped
1 small onion, chopped 
1/3 C apple cider vinegar 
2/3 C mayonnaise 
1/3 C sugar
1 tsp salt

Clean, chop and combine vegetables. mix well. Combine remaining ingredients and blend well. Pour over vegetables stirring well to cover all. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

**Note:  I love raisins in this salad, but my husband hates raisins so I don’t make it with raisins.  If you add raisins, use about 1/2 cup to a cup depending on the sweetness factor you like in your salad.  You can also add crispy fried bacon bits if you like.  Or both raisins and bacon.  Whoop it up!

Ya’ll Enjoy! 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Debra Rector says:

    Hi there! I saw your comment on my blog and decided to pop on over to meet you. You have a very classy, clean looking blog site with interesting posts. Count me in as a regular reader 🙂 I’ll be seeing you!

  2. Kath says:

    This is one of my favorite salads! My family would never allow me to add raisins either but they love bacon in it!!!

  3. Yum. Even I could do this one…

  4. Lisa Wilson says:

    My parents are coming for a visit this weekend, but no way am I going to clean that extensively!!! Now I feel guilty. 😦 I will cook for them some while they are here!

Leave a Reply

