Recipe: Spinach Salad – Kicking off SALAD week!

Why Salad Week?  Because it is hot outside!  I fear if I turn on the oven I will spontaneously combust.  So not the way I want to exit this world.  Believe me, if you’ve had a hot flash, you believe in spontaneous combustion or the possibility that it exists.  I swear I smelled smoke the other night.  🙂

Any-who……..Here’s a humdinger of a recipe.  My family loves this and you can actually bulk it up with some chicken or steak and make it into a meal instead of a side dish.  Make the dressing the night before and you’ll have  a quick easy salad in no time.

Mimi’s Spinach Salad

Dressing:  (Make ahead and refrigerate overnight) Mix well.
1 cup oil
2 teaspoons salt
1/4 cup cider vinegar
1/3 cup ketchup
1 medium onion, chopped
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
3/4 cup sugar

Salad:   

Fresh spinach, torn into pieces (if you buy the pre-bagged stuff, use two bags) or two fresh bunches, washed first so no one gets salmonella.
Crumbled cooked bacon – this depends on how many people you’re feeding but generally I use two slices per person.
Boiled Eggs, sliced – one or two eggs per person
Green Bell Peppers, sliced thin and bite size – one large pepper is usually good.  (I sometimes use a red or yellow pepper for color).
Sliced fresh mushrooms (1 pkg.)

Mix in large bowl and pour dressing over all and toss.  Serve immediately.

Ya’ll Enjoy!  I’ll post another salad tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

