Recipe: Lemon Ice Box Pie – Cool and Refreshing

Are you starting to get the idea that I’m not turning on my oven very much this summer?  We’ve had a lot of sandwiches, salads and food on the grill.  Believe you me, I will be ready for fall and the warming of the kitchen.  But, until then …..I’m going to share another recipe from the recipe notebook my mother so lovingly prepared for me back in 1981.  This is classic Lemon Ice Box Pie.  Simple, cool and refreshing!  Serve some up this weekend.

Mimi’s Ice Box Pie

1 can condensed milk
2 lemons (juice of 2, grate rind from 1 lemon)
2 eggs, separated
graham cracker or vanilla wafer crust

Combine condensed milk with lemon juice, grated rind and slightly beaten egg yolks.  Pour into crust.  Make meringue of egg whites and 6 tablespoon sugar.  Place on top of filling and bake at 350 degrees until meringue turns a light golden brown.  Refrigerate several hours before serving.

Ya’ll Enjoy!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Oh YUM!!! Thanks for this.

  2. Donna says:

    OMG! This is the Lemon Pie recipe that I grew up on! It is so easy and SO yummy!

Leave a Reply

