Recipe: Sick of being hot? Try this ice cream dessert

It is about this time of the summer that I start my daily whine at 4:00 AM with a hot flash and turning the A/C down and then I freeze my coffee so I have cold coffee or tea in the morning.  I probably have saved the Popsicle company from any financial trouble.  Those freeze pop stix are coming in a close second.  I just wish they made them in margarita flavors (with the tequila).  Let’s put it this way, I’m about to start putting my underwear in the freezer before wearing it.  Don’t laugh!  Have you ever had a hot flash? In July? 

So , in effort to help make the world a cooler place (both physically and emotionally), I’m sharing Miss Dee’ Ice Cream Dessert.  I don’t remember who Miss Dee is, but it is another handwritten recipe from my mother’s “Favorite Cakes, Deserts, Pie and Cookies” notebook she wrote for me back in 1981.  So here goes………make a batch and watch the smiles begin.  This is a great recipe to make with kids.

Miss Dee’s Ice Cream Dessert

12 oz. vanilla wafers, crushed
3 tablespoons melted margarine

Mix and press into a 9 x 12 x 12 pan.  Reserve 1/4 of the mixture for later.

Melt:  2 square of semi-sweet dark chocolate and 1/2 cup margarine

Cool and add:  3 egg yolks,  2 cups powered sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla

Fold in:  1/2 cup chopped almonds and 3 beaten egg whites

Pour over crumb base and freeze until firm.

Soften 1/2 gallon Chocolate Almond Ice Cream and spread over frozen mixture.  Sprinkle with reserved crumbs, cover with foil and return to the freezer.

To serve, cut into squares, top with whipped cream and chocolate curls or sprinkles.

Ya’ll Enjoy!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kate says:

    This looks easy enough for even me to make! No, honestly, it looks good.

    And hey, thanks so much for the super links today!

  2. pam says:

    You are so funny, I had to laugh, not too excited when my time comes full blown. I have had hot flashes now and then, but not regular. Well stay cool and thanks for sharing your yummy cool treat, as my son would say Mom its too hot can’t we just have ice cream. Hope you don’t mind me peeking in.

Leave a Reply

