While Walking the Dog…………

Which dog? This dog………………………Mr. 100 pounds of pure fluffy.

Gus - my Alaskan Malamute and sometimes floor rug
Gus - my Alaskan Malamute and sometimes floor rug
Every night I walk this dog for about 45 minutes to an hour.  We have to wait until 9:00 PM in the summer time because he has to wear his fur coat and he gets overheated very easily when it is hot outside. 
Well – we have to walk by this yard that has two insane boxers.  They growl and jump and threaten to tear the fence down every time we walk by.  Tonight, the big one was actually outside the fence and when Gus and I turned the corner, he saw us.  He charged straight for me and Gus.  Gus positioned himself between me and that dog and did not growl, but I could tell he was ready to put the moves on him.  I screamed as loudly as I could and in a deep voice “NO!”.  This dog stopped, he turned and ran back towards his house.  I took two steps forward (we were on the opposite side of the street from his yard) and he charged me again.  Gus waited to see if this dog would make a move closer, but Gus never charged – he just waited as I’ve taught him to “wait” on command.  Again, I screamed “NO!” at this dog.  He turned and walked back towards his house.  About this time, his human came outside to see what was going on.  Apparently they had no idea he was outside the fence.  The second the dog saw her, he charged me again.  I stood still and screamed “NO!” at him one more time.  Gus, waited – standing ready between me and that dog.  The lady called and called her dog.  He would not come.  She went in the house calling her husband to come get the dog before he “attacked someone” (I heard her say this).  She came back outside.  Her dog charged me again.  I let the slack go on Gus’ leash and Gus to took steps towards the road.  I said “If your dog cross the road, I’m letting go of my dog’s leash and you don’t want that to happen”.  I guess her dog got the hint as Gus did not growl, he did not bark, he did not back down.  He continually faced the charging dog and stood between us.  Gosh, my dog loves me.  You know why I know this.  Because he was taught not to react to other dogs.  He is verbally obedient.  He is very gentle with small children and animals.  He leaves things alone when told to “Leave it”.  He was just acting on instinct and I know he would have done whatever to defend me and himself.  He could have easily pulled away from me at any moment, but he didn’t.  He stayed with me. 
Good Boy, Gussie!  (he got a cookie when we got home).
Train your dogs to be good citizens.  They will pay you back a million times over when being a good dog!
Woof!
6 Comments Add yours

  1. aww i just love your dog. hope you don’t mind. he’s pretty obedient. is he the same breed as Siberian Husky? there are people who only knows how to keep a dog but doesn’t train ’em. bad owners!

    i’m touched by your story, really. 🙂

  2. Ness says:

    Oh – hey there! Thanks for stopping by my blog and your kind comment. My heart leapt right out of my chest when I saw a photo of your dog! We used to have an Alaskan Malamute too. They are the MOST BEAUTIFUL, AWESOME, AMAZING dogs aren’t they? I say *used to*, because sadly – he died 2.5yrs ago, protecting me – and my then 6month old baby from a venomous snake that got into our yard (Cape Cobra…lovely right) anyway, I can’t even watch movies about Malamutes without bursting into tears missing him. His name was Navarre, and I used to call him Fluffus Maximus for fun 🙂 I’ll be back to visit your blog soon. Thanks again for stopping by – oh and ‘chuffed’ means ‘really pleased’ 🙂

  3. Ness says:

    Your post has reminded me of something that happened with Navarre too – on a local beach. I’ll blog about it later – they really are amazing dogs.

  4. Donna says:

    What a great story! And what a great dog you’ve got there. He’s beautiful!

  5. kath says:

    What a great dog! Wow!

Leave a Reply

