Recipe: Easy, Simple, Elegant – Caramel Custard Cups

Think you don’t have enough ingredients to make a simple, elegant dessert?  Think again.  This recipe has seven, COUNT ‘EM, SEVEN ingredients.  It is one of my favorite desserts passed on by my Nanaw.  Now, I know what you’re thinking “isn’t that just a plain old flan?”   Well – yes and no.  My grandmother received this recipe from her mother and her mother’s mother, etc. etc. etc.  A bunch of little German women with a little bit of French thrown in there for good measure.  Hence, she called them Caramel Custard Cups.  So I was curious and punched flan in over at Merriam Websters to discover the origin and viola! – justification.  I love good old justification, especially when it comes to my daily madness.

M-W.com’s explanation of flan

Etymology:
French, from Old French flaon, from Late Latin fladon-, flado flat cake, of Germanic origin; akin to Old High German flado flat cake
Date:
1846
1 a: an open pie containing any of various sweet or savory fillings b: custard baked with a caramel glaze
So she wasn’t “storying” to me – it really was German after all.  Ahhhh – relief!
This dessert is so easy and everyone thinks you’re a culinary genius because it looks so fancy-schmancy on their plate.  Give it a whirl or twirl or whatever blows your skirt up.  I think you’ll like it.
Nanaw’s Caramel Custard Cups (aka flan)
4 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
2 eggs, slightly beaten
1 cup evaporated milk (skimmed)
2/3 cup water
1/3 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
dash salt
  • Set oven at 350 degrees.
  • Press brown sugar into four (4) custard cups (1 tablespoon for each cup).
  • Mix eggs, milk, water, sugar, vanilla and salt.
  • Pour mixture carefully over brown sugar so you don’t disturb the brown sugar on the bottom.
  • Set cups in a shallow pan in 1 inch of HOT water.  (I put the pan in the oven first and add the hot water just before closing the oven door because I don’t want to end up in the emergency room with 3rd degrees burns after sloshing hot water on myself.  I avoid pain whenever possible.)
  • Bake 50 minutes or until knife inserted near edge comes out clean.  Loosen edges with knife.
  • Unmold on pretty serving saucer with some fresh fruit.
Ya’ll Enjoy! 
4 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna says:

    I had some Cuban neighbors once who made this and I DID think it was a Spanish/Latin dessert. Who knew it was German/French? You learn something new everyday.
    Plus – it sounds SO easy.
    Thanks!

  2. I know what I’m making this weekend !!

  3. Kath says:

    Looks delish!

  4. pameladayton says:

    I tried to make a stupid-complicated flan that was a flop. This looks so easy, and my 5yodd wants to marry flan, so I am on this.

    Except- how do you skim evaporated milk? I’m looking at the question, and I feel like it’s a stupid one, but I just want to make sure it turns out right.

Leave a Reply

