Recipe: Grandma’s Ice Cream

My Goodness!  I didn’t realize I had not shared this summer favorite on my BLOG.  Our family uses this recipe for plain old VERY rich vanilla ice cream, and we also add fresh fruit to it.  My favorite (or course) is peach.  It is great for making banana ice cream, strawberry ice cream, blueberry ice cream, or coconut ice cream.  (Listen, to me!  I sound like Bubba from Forrest Gump).  If you make coconut ice cream, I would use coconut milk instead of condensed milk and then add fresh coconut.  I hope you enjoy this basic ice cream base.  It is one of my treasured recipes from my father’s mother.

Grandma’s Ice Cream

6 Eggs
2 cans condensed milk
1 cup sugar
5 tablespoons vanilla flavoring (extract)
whole milk (this is really important that you use WHOLE milk)

Beat eggs until thick and light colored.  Beat in sugar and condensed milk.  Add vanilla and enough milk to fill can to fill line.  Freeze in crank type ice cream freezer until hardened.  Fresh peaches, bananas, blueberries, or strawberries, which have been crushed or sliced into small bites, can be added BEFORE filling to the fill line with milk.  Makes 1 1/2 gallons. 

I also have a wonderful recipe (somewhere) for my grandmother’s Orange Crush Ice Cream.  I’ll post it as soon as I find it.  Kids love it! 

Ya’ll have a HAPPY 4TH OF JULY!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. caroldee says:

    Hi I came from Donna’s blog… OH that is exactly the recipe we had in Ca. and I used it for years. I miss those days. Don’t make much ice cream here in Michigan anymore. Ever had anyone REFUSE to eat it because the eggs were raw?? I had someone do that to me once. I love the recipe though.. it is simple and tastes wonderful. Melts rather quick too.. I use a simple condensed milk and sugar with vanilla and milk recipe in my portable ice cream maker.. no eggs.. yep it is just NOT THE SAME! Hope your 4th is a great one! : )
    Talk about ICE MILK.. ughhh..

  2. starwoodgal says:

    Hey Miss Caroldee –
    No…I’ve never had anyone refuse to eat the ice cream because of the raw eggs. What they don’t know what hurt ’em is my motto. Never had a problem yet.

    Thanks for dropping by.

  3. Belinda says:

    Hi–I found you in a comment over at OMSH! My husband and I were JUST the other day discussing how hard it was to find anyone who still knew how to make homemade ice cream the way it was meant to be–meaning, with eggs. And here’s a great recipe! From a fellow Arkie! I’ll be sure to try this one out. I should buy an ice-cream maker, but I just keep using preschooler power to roll it around until it’s frozen. 😉

    I have this totally sinful, artery-clogging chocolate Cake Of Ridiculousness which includes layers of homemade chocolate mousse, which of course includes a mess of raw eggs. No one gets sick. Ever.

  4. of course it is important to use WHOLE MILK, that’s what makes it amazingly good. 🙂 there are times 2% just doesn’t cut it!

    my grandma used this same recipe and would often add smashed bananas! just thinking about it makes me hungry…..

  5. pam says:

    Sounds good, but I’m really can’t wait till you share your orange ice cream, now that will be so yummy.

Leave a Reply

