Aspiring Gardner

I was not born with a green thumb.  Undoubtedly, I should have been given the fact that my grandfather had one of the biggest yard gardens I’ve every witnessed in my life.  But, none of the ladies in my family where big flower people.  I love flowers, outside, in summer, in pots where big dog feet cannot trample them to death. 

I slaved Saturday morning, planting a profusion of pink and white in my flower pots on my back patio.  I guess you could say it was my Mother’s Day gift to myself.  I dared to plant a few in my beds, but Gus trampled them fairly quickly.  Oh, well! I tried.  Then, I proceeded to tackle the oval bed on the right side of my driveway.  The Bermuda grass had taken over after the Japanese Maple tree died last year.  I spent 4 hours chopping and ripping my way through grass and rock and really rotten weed mat.  I paid the price.  My right hand is mangled, cuticles ripped – torn- shredded.  Blisters on first two fingers from pulling grass stalks.  My right hand looks like it was put in a paper shredder.  I should/could have worn my gardening gloves, but I haven’t any grip while wearing them so I didn’t – wear them, that is.  (Idiot! Idio! IDIOT!)  I had to cut my nails down to nothing and my hands still look wretched.  My right shoulder is killing me today.  Dang! I hate getting older.  Gardening is rough of the hands, rough on the back and shoulders and rough on the knees.  I just hope all the pain pays off in a beautiful patio “in pink” in the coming weeks. 

In the meantime, I’ll be visiting Cindy at “Cindy’s Nails” this week for a manicure and pedicure (believe me, I deserve both and need both).  They have lovely massage chairs that you sit in during the pedicure.  I’m really looking forward to that.  I’m sure Cindy will take one look at my nands and feet and say “Why you not come see me more often?”  and then scowl at me and my feet.  (and she’ll be right to do so). 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kath says:

    I am sure your garden will reward your hard work with lots of pink! And a mani/pedi is the perfect way to reward yourself even if you do get scowled at!!

    Did you replant the bunny grass? That was cute! We sprinkle blood meal around our small plants or else we feed the bunnies too. Its cheap and works great!!!

  2. Pete Wilson says:

    We just finished planting all of our flowers as well. I love them, but man, it’s a lot of hard work!

  3. starwoodgal says:

    Kath – I haven’t replanted to the bunny grass. I think I need to find something else that will live in clay soil. I think maybe they weren’t getting enough sun either. I have to plant things that are shade tolerant since I have so many trees in my yard. Thanks for the blood meal tip! Got anything for big furry dogs with big feet?

Leave a Reply

