Recipe: Easy Banana Nut Bread made with Bisquick

Bisquick and Me - Circa 1963Ran across this photo last night.  Apparently, I liked hiding in the cabinets and rummaging through dry goods as a child.  I was probably hiding from My Three Brothers.   While I can’t fit into the cabinets any longer, I still rummage through the pantry so see “what can I make with this stuff” as I hate wasting anything.   

Anyway, my mother always thought about sending this picture to the Bisquick Company, though she never did. Bisquick has been a staple in our family for many years whether it was Biscuits or Pancakes or Waffles or Sausage Balls or this insanely easy and utterly delicious Banana Nut Bread. The men in my office BEG me to make this just about every other day. They call it delicious, I call it job security.  🙂

Give it a whirl! It is a time saver and really, really, REALLY easy.

 

 

Mimi’s Banana Nut Bread

1/3 Cup Crisco Oil
1 1/2 Cup mashed bananas – must be very ripe – almost black – the mushier, the better
1/2 tsp vanilla
3 eggs
2 1/3 Cup Bisquick baking mix
1 Cup sugar
1/2 Cup pecans, chopped

Heat oven to 350°. Generously grease the bottom of a 9 X 5 X 3″ loaf pan. mix all ingredients and beat vigorously for one minute. Pour into the greased pan. Bake for 55 to 60 minutes or until wooden toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes on cake rack. Run knife around sides of loaf and remove from pan.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. jlgates says:

    You should enter this recipe for the Banana Bread bake off. I have links to it on my site. Cute picture!

  2. Shirley says:

    A house without Bisquick in the cabinet might as well be a house without a kitchen.

    My mother used it, and I keep it for lots of things. In fact, the first batch of chicken-n-dumplings I ever made were from bisquick.

  3. That’s a cute photo !

Leave a Reply

