Fresh Buttermilk Cake and Strawberries…

Tonight, I was in the mood to bake.  I had all the ingredients and shockingly enough, some buttermilk in my refrigerator.   This cake is easy to make and absolutely Da-Voon!  So, let’s make it – shall we?
Ingredients

Sugar, Butter, Cake Flour, Buttermilk, Eggs, Baking Soda, Salt, Vanilla and Butter Flavoring.

Step 1

Cream the butter, sugar and flavorings (vanilla, butter flavoring and salt).  

Step 2

Add eggs one-at-a-time (very important).  Do not question my methods young Grasshopper.  Just kidding!  Beating well after each egg.

Result
This is how it looks after adding the eggs.  Moving on.

Next Step

Now add flour and buttermilk a little at a time alternating between the two.
You must follow instruction, Grasshopper, or you’ll end up with concrete. 
To repeat: alternate – cake flour, buttermilk, cake flour, buttermilk. 

Pour into a greased/floured tube or bundt pan and bake at 350 degrees
for one hour.  Remove to cooling rack for 10 minutes and then remove from pan.

Awwwww! I wish you could smell this………
I ……..can’t……. stand…. it…………………….


And, CHECK OUT THESE STRAWBERRIES! OH, BABY!


I’m speechless………(probably  because my mouth is full).
Ya’ll enjoy!

Instructions:

2 1/2 cups sugar
1 cup butter
3 cups cake flour, sifted (must be cake flour)
1 cup buttermilk
4 eggs
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
dash of salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon butter flavoring

Cream the butter, sugar and flavorings. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each.  Mix soda with the buttermilk and add flour and buttermilk alternately a little at a time.  Bake at 350 degrees for one hour in a greased and floured tube pan.

Add to Technorati Favorites

2 Comments Add yours

  1. CakeEater says:

    Looks fabulous

  2. I have everything but the cake flour. I was wondering what I was going to do with the rest of the buttermilk.

    Hmmm, there’s this place next to the liquor store called a Supermarket. I bet I’ll find flour there.

Leave a Reply

