Nanaw’s Butter Cake

Now this butter cake is AWESOME.  You can use it much like sponge cake or yellow cake, but I like it plain with the fruit salad or chocolate sauce.  We’ll talk about my chocolate addiction later.  Go play with different toppings – I know you’ll love it.  Here we go!  It is so easy it will make you cry.

Nanaw’s Butter Cake

2 cups cake flour, sifted  (this HAS to be cake flour, no substitutes)
2 sticks Butter (REAL BUTTER PEOPLE – unsalted)
2 cups sugar (don’t make me repeat it again- okay I will, REAL SUGAR)
5 Eggs – (go take some extra cholesterol medicine and you’ll be fine)
1 teaspoon vanilla (not vanilla extract, REAL Vanilla – you’ll thank me later)

Cream the butter and sugar well.  Add eggs one at a time.  Beating well after each egg.  (Side note – apparently this is VERY important or she would not have written it down so clearly.  So, put the eggs in one at a time – patience is a virtue – I can’t count how many times she told me that).  Add flour, AND THEN the vanilla – apparently this is important too.  Now, my Nanaw had a “tube pan” the kind you make Angel Food Cake in.  I highly recommend baking the cake in this pan.  Just turns out “per-tee-er” and I think it bakes more evenly.  So, go to Wal-Mart or your local baking supply store and buy yourself a TUBE PAN.  Grease (with some butter or Crisco) and flour that sucker up. Pour in cake batter and bake at one hour at 350 degrees.  I highly recommend eating this warm!

Add to Technorati Favorites

Leave a Reply

