Recipe: Hash Brown Potato Casserole

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I get really bored with potatoes. Boiled. Fried. Baked. Baked twice. Au Gratin. Smashed. A girl needs some variety. You know what I mean?

I skimmed through Mimi’s Cook Book (Bible that I cook by) and what do you know – a potato recipe that I haven’t cooked in a decade. Give or take a few years. This is so ridiculously easy and tasty. I’ve cooked it to go with breakfast, with supper, for church pot luck dinners, for picnics, etc. If you’re looking for a potato recipe that is out of the ordinary, easy, delicious, and filling – this is it. Make it for your next meal. It goes with everything. Sort of like a great pair of black heels. It just works!

Mimi’s Hash Brown Potato Casserole

1 (32 oz.) package frozen hash brown potatoes, thawed
salt and pepper to taste
3/4 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup chopped onion (I use white onions)
1 can cream of chicken soup
8 oz. carton sour cream
1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
2 cups corn flakes, crushed (this is regular corn flakes – not sugar frosted)
Lemon twist and parsley flakes

Combine potatoes, 1/2 cup butter, onion, soup, sour cream, cheese, salt and pepper. Stir until well blended. Spoon into a greased 2 1/2 quart casserole dish. Crush corn flakes and stir in the remaining butter. Sprinkle over the potato mixture. Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes. Garnish with a lemon twist and parsley sprig if desired. Makes 10 servings.

And, check this out – Paula Deen is living in my dream home! Click here to watch CMT Cribs video.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

7 Comments Add yours

  1. GypsyBiscuit says:

    Oh yes. This is super simple and there’s rarely any leftovers. I add a little diced red bell pepper to mine. The cheese can be changed up too. Smoked gouda, gruyere, fontina… all good.

    Sometimes my mother would make this with tater tots instead of hash browns. Then she would put pork chops on top of the mix but under the crunchy topping. Voila! Add a green salad on the side and dinner was done. She called it “Pork Chops O’Brien”.

    Wow. Hadn’t thought about that in awhile. But it sounds good for this weekend. I can take the chops out of the freezer this morning…

  2. Starwoodgal says:

    I have a Tater Tot Casserole Recipe too. I’ll post it tomorrow.

  3. I want this for breakfast. I am sick of saltines!

  4. We call these “Funeral Potatoes” in my world…morbid name, but good, good stuff…

  5. Sharon Brendle says:

    This potato dish is a family favorite. We first encountered it over 10 years ago at my daughter’s 4H club banquet. Everyone loved it so much that the mom who brought it had to agree to never bring anything else to the banquets. It’s now a part of our traditional Easter dinner and is great alongside a baked ham.

  6. Colleen says:

    We make this recipe all the time–it’s a family favorite. I don’t use corn flakes, though. We use french fried onions crushed on the top—oooooh, great flavor! Thanks for the Paula Dean video. That’s the style of decorating I love! It’s so beautiful and welcoming. That’s what I strive for-a home that says come on in, we’re having fun relaxing.

  7. I have pork chops in the frig, and this sounds perfect for dinnner! THANK YOU for osmething different!

    http://greenandchewy.blogspot.com

Leave a comment