A Day with Pioneer Woman and Bakerella

If you’re a fan of Pioneer Woman and/or Bakerella, I’m sure you know Miss PW held a little cooking contest and I was one of the four lucky winners selected to attend the first baking/cooking demonstration hosted in the newly remodeled ranch lodge.

PW and Bakerella - MM on the right.

PW and Bakerella - MM on the right.

I was allowed to invite one friend and was thrilled that my friend Sheila was able to accompany me for the event. Sheila is a pint-sized powerhouse who chops down huge trees in her yard (with a chainsaw), does home remodeling (herself), raises 4 kids, scuba dives, travels, etc. etc. etc. She’s also a trained chef. This woman makes tomato ice cream for goodness sakes. I need to try some of that! Needless to say, Miss Sheila kept me entertained during the drive and didn’t make fun of me (Much) when we made a loop around town before finding our designated ‘left turn’. I’m a dork!

Miss Sheila demonstrating cake ball results!

Miss Sheila demonstrating cake ball results!

We drove until we saw the designated sign PW said to look for and there was a white truck coming down the road. I stopped and rolled down my window to ask this person if we were taking the correct road and low and behold ‘COWBOY JOSH’ was the driver of that vehicle. He was really sweet! (Girls – he’s single.) I should have taken his picture, but I didn’t want him to think I was some psycho stalker. :) We arrived safe and sound at the lodge around 10:40 AM. We were greeted by Charlie Dog in the driveway.

Charlie wasnt allowed in the house as he had been sprayed by a skunk!

Charlie wasn't allowed in the house as he had been sprayed by a skunk!

He did make it in once, but Missy helped him make an hasty exit.

He did make it in once, but Missy helped him make an hasty exit.

 

The lodge is beautiful and it was a treat to see it in person. I believe there were 18 ladies total in attendance. PW, Missy, Bakerella, PW’s Girls, Hyacinth and her daughter, two of PW’s friends from her hometown, two women from Wichita, KS, two from Tulsa, OK, two from Ft. Smith, AR, and Sheila and myself from Rogers, AR. Well – technically Sheila is from Springdale, but we’ll let that slide. If I’m missing someone, I apologize.

PW introducing guests to Bakerella

PW introducing guests to Bakerella

PW was the perfect hostess and served us lunch (beef tenderloin and her Asian noodle salad. We had the fresh blueberries with yogurt recipe for dessert). (ssshhhhh – I had two glasses of wine with my lunch). We also met PW’s hubster (MM). I can appreciate his willingness to stop by and meet everyone. My poor husband wouldn’t have darkened the door with that many women in one building. We did not meet the boys, but PW/MM’s daughters are two sweet girls. They, along with Hyacinth’s daughter, sang  for us. I’ve posted a link at the bottom of this story.

PWs Lunch!

PW's Lunch!

Miss Bakerella! Also a little pint-sized powerhouse of southern hospitality. Did you know Bakerella is inspired by ‘Barbarella’ and not ‘Cinderella’? PW shared that story with us. Bakerella told us about her debut on the Martha Stewart Show. You can visit MS’s web site and search for Cake Pops. The video will come up. Bakerella said Emeril was on the show that same day. She’s a special lady – let me tell ya. Fun! Fun! Fun!

Bakerella and PWs girls preparing the cake pop supplies.

Bakerella and PW's girl preparing the cake pop supplies.

Sheila and Colleen (Witchita, KS).

Sheila and Colleen (Witchita, KS).

I was a complete disaster making cake pops, but Sheila took right to it (show off). She created one pop that looked like the earth. There ‘s a picture on PW’s cooking page. I do not know how I missed getting a picture of it. Very cute! Everyone had cute ideas. I just worked on my smoothing technique. Because I’m an overly anal perfectionist and I just need to learn to go with the flow. Ha! Like that will happen.  Here are a few photos from our day on the ranch.

Cake Pops!

Cake Pops!

Of course, there were casualties along the way - they were good!

Of course, there were casualties along the way - they were good!

Karen - demonstrating the correct method to achieve a smooth coat of chocolate.  Wrist tapping! Who knew?

Karen - demonstrating the correct method to achieve a smooth coat of chocolate. Wrist tapping! Who knew?

We made cake pops and ate cake pops!

We made cake pops and ate cake pops!

Missy and PW melted chocolate for us on the stoves french ring.  I need that stove!

Missy and PW melted chocolate for us on the stove's french ring. I need that stove!

PWs girls learning to make molded cakes.

PW's girls learning to make molded cakes.

Bakerella - showing us how to decorate cake pops.

Bakerella - showing us how to decorate cake pops.

PW - photographing the process.

PW - photographing the process.

Demonstrating dipping the top of the molded cakes.  Finished cakes on the plate.  So cute!

Demonstrating 'dipping the top' of the molded cakes. Finished cakes on the plate. So cute!

Kids are so creative!

Kids are so creative!

I do have about 84 photos and a video.  Here’s a link to all the PHOTOS.

Pioneer Girls Sing! from Jamie Anderson on Vimeo.

Please visit Miss Stefanie’s BLOG, Miss Kacee’s BLOG, and Miss Karen’s BLOG to read their stories of PW/Bakerella Cake Pop Day!

Thank you to PW and Bakerella for such a fun day and for being so gracious to share their time and talents.  It was a real treat to meet them and all the ladies in attendance.

Starwoodgal  :)

Categories: Burning Blog, Cooking with Starwoodgal, Desserts | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 45 Comments

Post navigation

45 thoughts on “A Day with Pioneer Woman and Bakerella

  1. Cindy

    I linked here from PW’s site. I love your post about the day with them at the lodge. It looks like soo much fun. I think there are thousands of jealous ladies out there. Thanks for sharing your photos.

  2. Katherine

    I myself, also get lost when driving to a new place and I never hesitate to ask directions. You did a great job getting to the big event by 10:30…and thanks for all the great photos you are sharing…I’ll keep an eye out for the video you promise to post of the girls singing.
    I’m so glad you all had a great time, not that I doubted that you all would, PW is an awesome person and always makes me laugh when I read her blog, is she as funny in person?

  3. Memoria

    Thank you so much for these pics. My heart filled with excitement with almost every one of them. I will definitely come back to see more!!

    Congrats!

  4. Hi! It’s Karen from yesterday! It was so much fun meeting you and making cake pops. I think I got out of there with about half a dozen “decent” pops. But about a billion incredible memories. What a wonderful day!

  5. Oh my gosh, how fun was that? I envy you, it looks like a fun day was had by all. I found your blog through PW, and am enjoying taking a tour. Thanks for sharing your firsthand experience with us!
    there are only a few blogs that tickle my fancy, miss PW, Daddyscratches and now I look forward to keeping up with your blog now too!

  6. starwoodgal

    Hey Karen! (Karen from the photo) – So great to meet you yesterday. I made it home with 5 cake pops. Hubster ate two last night. Sweet cakes, sweet people, sweet memories. I had a blast!

  7. starwoodgal

    PW is a hoot! Very gracious with a gift for making everyone instantly feel at home.

  8. I found your blog as well through PW-What an adventure to spend the day with PW and Bakerella with the added kicker of meeting MM and a glimpse of Josh! The photos are great and I love Ree’s bracelet!

  9. Okay. How cool is this???? I feel like I was there!

  10. starwoodgal

    We had a great time!

  11. It looks like you had so much fun! When are you hosting an event at your house? I would love to get out of cold Nebraska for awhile :)

  12. starwoodgal

    @ Jamie – We should do that some time!

  13. OMG! I can’t believe you got to meet Ree AND Bakerella. In one day. AND see the lodge. OH I’m so jealous right now (in a good way).

    When I saw your link pop up over your name on Ree’s site, I was like, “OMG! I know her, I’ve commented on her blog, so it’s like *I* was totally there too!” Yes, I know, sad, I should get out more.

    I’ll bet you guys had a blast!!!!

  14. What a day you had with PW and friends!!!! I’m happy for you! Thanks for sharing your day with us!!!

    I’m with Jamie…when will YOU be hosting one??

  15. I’m glad you had the opportunity to do this adventure. How much fun was that? I love reading about your escapades at PW’s Lodge.

  16. How I loved your behind the scenes look at the fun party!!!
    Thank you for sharing!

  17. What a wonderful day for you! I’m envious!
    Your photo documentation is perfection. Looking forward to your video.
    abb
    (I’m one of the Cocktail Corner gals – Mental P. is one of my best buds.)

  18. I linked over from PW’s place. Wow, what an opportunity you had! If you had HALF as much fun as it looked like you had, then it must have been a total blast!

    It was so interesting seeing her pictures, then yours…like getting the story from two different perspectives. Would it be okay to say that I’m SOOOOOOOOO jealous??

  19. I came over here and looked at your day after looking at PW’s site. Looks like you all had a blast. I want to know who had to wash the dishes?

  20. how fun! you got some great pictures. glad some arkansas gals got to go. i’m from arkansas too, but way south.

  21. rsmallen

    I clicked through from PW’s comments. Great photos…looks like you had a wonderful time!

  22. Oh my! Fantastic recap and great photos. I am so glad you had fun. The both of you were a delight.

  23. Excellent job documenting your trip! I’m a huge PW fan and couldn’t wait to see. You are so lucky!!

  24. Love your post and living through you vicariously, such a fab day you had, lucky you!!!!

  25. Kelly

    Looks like Arkansas was well represented! Im in Fayetteville!Thanks for all of the wonderful photos! So exciting to see! Linked here from PW. Love your site!

  26. Theresa in Alberta

    Thankyou for the “behind the scenes” photo’s. I am so happy that you and all of the other guests had a blast with PW and Bakerella. I am really looking forward to the video of the young ladies singing :-)

  27. I have a grin so huge from getting to hear and see those girls sing that song!!!! Thank you so much! I know it was an incredible day. A RED letter day!

  28. How fun! It looks like a blog celebrities retreat.
    Thanks so much for sharing.

  29. Kelly

    Ok. so i really like how you have your photos on photoshop! I use photoshop 7, and never knew that this was out there! Im going to check it out! Have you used it before? if so , do you like it?

  30. starwoodgal

    Hey Kelly –

    I use the Adobe Photoshop Online to share photo albums with family and friends so they can download and print the photos they want to print. I really like the fact that they give you 20 GB of storage for FREE! Now, I do not recommend it for professionals unless they do not care about their copyrights (read fine print).

    I also have Adobe Photoshop 7 and have been using it for the past 6 years or so. I wish I had the cash to buy CS4, but not right now. But using the online tools is great for simple color, contrast, brightness, cropping, and basic photo editing.

  31. acowboyphoto

    How wonderful! Amazing!
    Michelle

  32. gypsybiscuit

    I’m sure we made “the loop” simply because we were too busy chattering. I just consider it a bonus experience. We now know for certain where the post office is in that particular town. :-)

    “Pint-sized Powerhouse?” Really? What a complimentary moniker. I salute you. Thanks for psoting a decent photo of me. And thanks for taking me along. It really was a day to remember!

  33. starwoodgal

    @ gypsybiscuit (aka Miss Sheila, my cake pop partner and friend) – did you see the compliments PW gave you on her BLOG and how many women left comments about your beautiful blouse and hair !

    Yep – we sure do know where that post office is and the HOT, COLD and WARM water resource for the area. But, that’s another post!

  34. You’re always welcomed in Nebraska. I would show you some good Midwestern hospitality. :)

    p.s. Could you update my blog on your blogroll? http://www.jamies-recipes.com My husband bought me my own domain name. How romantic huh?

  35. Kelly

    Thanks for the Photoshop advice! Im trying it out! I always end up with my photos in more than one place, and sometimes i dont like that! Other than being on Facebook, my photos stay locked away on my computer! LOL
    Have you ever used Flicker or any of the other popular ones? Im not sure if i like Flicker.

    This has been so much fun for me to watch all the post from PW! I have really enjoyed it, and its funny it leads to people right in my own backyard so to speak!
    Thanks
    Kelly

  36. starwoodgal

    Hey Kelly – Yes, I use Flickr for all of the photos I post on my BLOG. I’ve also used Photobucket. There are other sites, like putfile and if you’re using Cox Internet, you have storage online with them as well.

    So nice to meet a fellow NW Arkansas Blogger. Maybe we go meet in person sometime.

  37. Kelly

    I have cox internet! lol, i never knew that i have online storage?? I might have to check that out! Yes its very nice to meet a NWA blogger! lol except, i dont have a blog, I want to, just not sure of the steps and all! I also am trying to start my own photography business. Ive had a few setbacks, but i hope to eventually get there.
    Ohhh, we should meet one day! Maybe have our own NWA cooking day with PW/Bakerella’s recipes! That would be awesome!

  38. betsy

    What a great post! I can’t get over how much fun you all must have had. Thanks for posting all these pictures, and your fantastic commentary on the whole thing!

  39. SOOOO glad you got to go and have such a great time!!!! Thanks for the pics, too!

  40. Wonderful post. It’s so nice to see the whole thing from different prospectives!

    http://sprucehill.typepad.com/

  41. Thank you so much for your recap. And thank you so much for the link to the video of the girls singing…I had tears in my eyes. I know you had a wonderful day! It looked like loads of fun.

  42. Pingback: A Celebrity Amongst Us « Midlife Slices™

  43. Thanks for the great pics!

    I thought of you all this week and how much fun you must have had!

    Congratulations!

  44. You guys are great. Great blogs and great posts.

  45. Pingback: Just some cute cupcake stuff | Recipes Tap

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

