Recipe: Peanut Brittle

Let me preface this by saying, this is one of those recipes where you REALLY do need a big cast iron skillet. I don’t know what it is, but it is weird how Peanut Brittle doesn’t taste the same unless it is made in a cast iron skillet. Maybe it is the heat, maybe it is magic. All I know is that I’ve watched my Mom (aka Mimi) make this a million ba-zillion times and she always used a cast iron skillet. Always!

So – here’s my problem. I can’t hold a cast iron skillet. I have to ask the hubster to lift the skillet unless I want to be the next trauma patient in the hospital burn unit. I have the onset of carpal tunnel syndrome and the grip of a three year old. But, that doesn’t stop me from getting someone to do the heavy lifting around here – like cast iron skillets. Grab one! Grab a hulking man to lift the pan and make some Peanut Brittle.

Mimi’s Peanut Brittle

1 1/2 cups sugar
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup white Karo Syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla
dash salt
2 cups raw peanuts
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

Measure soda and set aside. Grease a large square of foil and have ready on counter-top. Mix other ingredients in a large cast iron skillet. Cook over medium heat for 12 to 15 minutes stirring with a wooden spoon. (Oh yeah! That’s really important too. Use a wooden spoon or I’ll tell Mimi. No really, metal spoons make it taste weird. I swear!) Candy will spin a thread and peanuts will turn light brown and pop. Remove candy from heat and gently stir in the soda. (really, gently means gently. The reason is to give a little rise to the candy. So, stir gently. You’ll have nice brittle, not a flat slab of sugar. You want it to look slightly foamy.) Pour mixture on greased foil to cool. When cooled break into pieces and store in an airtight container.

Y’all Enjoy! :)

Categories: Candy, Cooking with Starwoodgal | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Peanut Brittle

  1. One of my favorites. Though I didn’t know about the iron skillet business. Luckily, I have all of my mother’s iron skillets. Treasures they are….

  2. You have been keeping busy with putting out recipes! I will definitely trying the coconut bon bons!! And the peanutty Choc cookies.

  3. Twenty years ago when I lived in San Diego, my 11 year old neighbor girl next door gave me some homemade peanut brittle in a pretty little box with the recipe attached. It was all made in the microwave and really very good. And EASY. . . since an eleven year old can do it. It’s the only peanut brittle I’ve ever made. But then I have never tasted it coming out of a cast iron skillet before either.

  4. starwoodgal

    Really? Microwave? Hmmm – I wonder how it doesn’t explode. You’ll need to send me that recipe. (I won’t tell Mimi I didn’t use a Cast Iron Skillet.) tee hee!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

