Recipe: Apple Salad

Mom (aka Mimi) e-mailed me and asked what she could bring next week for Thanksgiving Dinner. Of course, hubster would not make it through the holiday without a Homemade Pecan Pie, so I asked her to make a couple of pies. And, I also asked her to make her Apple Salad. I really love this salad because it compliments just about anything you serve it with no matter what time of year it is. And, IT IS EASY TO MAKE (kind of an ongoing theme here at Something’s Burning). Six little ingredients is all it takes to whip up this salad for your holiday dinner. So use some beautiful big red apples and add some color to the table.

Mimi’s Apple Salad

3 large red delicious apples
1/2 cup chopped celery
1 cup raisins
1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts
dash of salt
mayonnaise or miracle whip (I’m a southern girl. I never use Miracle Whip.)

Wash and core apples. Cut into small cubes and place in mixing bowl. Add celery, raisins, nuts and salt. Add enough mayonnaise or MW to coat well. Chill before serving.

Y’all Enjoy!  :)

Categories: Cooking with Starwoodgal, Salads and Soup | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Apple Salad

  1. As I prepare for the Thansgiving holiday, I really appreciate your recipes. I am making the corn casserole, and chocolate pie. Yum! I always made my stuffing with sausage and apple but was never quite sure about the ingredients. I sort of wing it. Do you have a good stuffing recipe? You’re blog is fabulous! Thanks for all the delicious recipes, SWG!

  2. starwoodgal

    Deb – I always make my Mom’s Cornbread Dressing. Very easy to make and “wing it” with additional ingredients.
    :)

  3. I make this both ways but like the miracle whip as it gives it a different taste.. got to have the ZING!! Have you ever heard of putting grapes in this? My mother used to put them in it too. I think it is fine the way it is. :)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

