Recipe: Easy Cornbread Dressing

So, admittedly – I’m a dork cook!  I’ve learned to cook because I had to and I can follow directions.  Thank goodness for my mother and her patience and the fact that she typed up all her recipes way back in 1991 and put them in a binder for me.  The truth is, her recipes are basic, easy, and delicious so even a dork cook, like me, can whip out a Thanksgiving Dinner that will taste like Mom made it.  :)

With that in mind, I’m going to share my mother’s recipe for Homemade Cornbread Dressing.  Don’t be afraid because it is really, really easy to make.  Here we go!

Mimi’s Cornbread Dressing

1 Pan of cornbread
4 slices stale bread, toasted
1 package Pepperidge Farm Herb seasoned stuffing (8 oz.)
1 diced onion
1 cup diced celery
4 tablespoons butter of margarine
3 eggs, slightly beaten
salt and pepper to taste
cooked, chopped, turkey giblets
4 cups giblet broth

Saute onion and celery in butter.  Cook the turkey giblets in water with 1 rib of celery and salt, pepper, etc.  for several hours or until tender.  Remove celery stalk from broth.  Remove giblets from broth and reserve broth.  Chop cooled giblets.  Crumble breads and stuffing mix, add sauted vegetables, eggs, chopped giblets and broth.  If not wet enough add a little water.  Place in a large flat baking dish.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Y’all Enjoy!

Categories: Cooking with Starwoodgal, Vegetables | Tags: , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Easy Cornbread Dressing

  1. I have not made dressing from scratch but once and that was 15 years ago! It turned out great but I have just been lazy since then. This year I am determined to make it again and am so looking forward to it. Dressing is soo good.

  2. Sounds very similar to my mother’s….I love Thanksgiving so much, we have it several times a year!

  3. My mother always made homemade dressing with cornbread and still to this day wants that every year. I hate that she is restricted so in her diet and not able to enjoy things. I am hoping I can re do her recipe and she can have some. It sounds a lot like yours here. Sadly her stove top box mix she has now is a NO NO too much salt in it! Have a great week! :)

  4. My family has been making this recipe for about 10 years now, and it is easier, and delicious…even my
    90 year old mother has had to admit it IS better than the one she made for 70 years, now several generations of our family is using it. I use boiled eggs in it, not raw. I blend it lightly so it won’t be mushy. I use Martha White corn bread mix. OH, SO
    delicious!!!!

  5. Debbie Fikes

    It has been a long time since I have had the pleasure of making homemade dressing, I have used jiffy cornbread mix, in the past. Your recipe is similar to how I use to make mine, except I only used cornbread and instead of raw egg mixture, I used hard boiled eggs, and sage seasoning. Your recipe does sound delicious right about now, though! Thanks for sharing, and many wonderful holidays to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

