Recipe: Fresh Homemade Apple Cake

I bet you probably have most, if not all, the ingredients for this cake already stashed in your kitchen pantry.  This cake is so good when it is still warm from the oven.  I love it with coffee in the afternoon.  I love it for breakfast.  I love if for dessert with a big scoop of vanilla cinnamon swirl ice cream.  This one’s a keeper! 

Fresh Homemade Apple Cake

Preheat Oven to 325 degrees

1 cup oil
2 cups sugar
2 eggs, beaten
3 cups plain flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 cups chopped apples
1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

Mix first three ingredients together.  Add sifted dry ingredients.  Add apples and nuts.  Mixture will be very thick.  Stir with a large spoon as you will not be able to mix with the average mixer.  Mix well.

Spoon batter into a greased and floured bundt pan.  Bake at 325 for 50 to 55 minutes until done.

Y’all Enjoy!

Categories: Cooking with Starwoodgal, Desserts | Tags: , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Recipe: Fresh Homemade Apple Cake

  1. Sounds delicious. I have a bunch of apples from applepicking last weekend.

  2. I love apple cake more than pie, it’s always so good. I can barely stop eating the batter.

  3. I will be making this one. Yum.

  4. dcamurray

    You don’t use Self-rising flour with this? Just regular?
    I’m of old school Self-Rising and taking baby steps into the All-Purpose world. It makes me nervous.

  5. starwoodgal

    Sure! Sorry about that. Yes, by all means, use self-rising flour. :)

  6. Jennifer

    This is almost identical to the cake my grandmother used to make I am so excited my dad is getting it for his b-day again

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

